ARCHIVED CONTENT: In December 2020, the CZO program was succeeded by the Critical Zone Collaborative Network (CZ Net) ×

Cross-CZO Studies

The Catalina-Jemez CZO is focused on understanding how variation in energy (quantified as EEMT) input to the Critical Zone affects long-term CZ evolution in various lithologies, and its short term (episodic) response.  Since our CZO is situated in the semi-arid southwestern US, we are able to probe only a small portion of the total range in global EEMT and parent rock type.  Therefore, we seek cross-CZO activities to expand the range of EEMT and lithology accessible to the study of CZ evolution.

Investigators and students in the Catalina-Jemez CZO are involved in multiple cross-CZO working groups.  X-CZO working groups focus on developing cross-site comparisons of structural features and coupled processes being studied by several of the CZOs.  The goal of the working groups is to pursue cross-site science that takes full advantage of the larger parameter space offered by the CZO network than is available in any individual site. Working groups collaborate by sharing data, models, findings and ideas, and by coming together for topical X-CZO workshops.


The Catalina-Jemez and Luquillo CZOs organized a SAVI-funded, cross-CZO workshop on “Concentration-discharge relations in the critical zone (C/Q-CZ):  Implications for understanding critical zone structure, function and evolution”.  The workshop was held at University of New Hampshire, July 20-22, 2015 and included participants representing multiple CZOs and other field sites.  Papers from the workshop are being developed for joint publication in a special section of Water Resources Research.


Current X-CZO working groups have the intent of better understanding CZ structure and processes by developing cross-site collaborations on the set of topics shown here.

Participants in the Concentration-Discharge Relations cross-CZO workshop included (from top left to bottom right):  Joe Mills (BC CZO), Mark Torres (USC), Chen Bao (SSH CZO), Adam Scott Ward (IML CZO), Kyle Trostle (C-J CZO), Rich Brereton (LQ CZO), Daniel Ibarra (Stanford), Pamela Sullivan (Univ. KS), Jon Chorover (C-J CZO), Bill McDowell (LQ CZO), Miguel Leon (LQ CZO), Lou Derry (CZO National Office), Kate Maher (Stanford), Hyojin Kim (ER CZO), Andres Aguirre (Cornell), Beth Hoagland (SSH CZO), and Sarah Godsey (RC CZO).